This Step: Get a Drivers License
Get a Drivers License in Alaska
Alaska uses a graduated program to license its first-time drivers. However, provisional licensing only applies to new drivers younger than 18 years old. If you fit in that category, the following must also apply:
- You have held a valid learner’s permit for 6 months
- You must have no convictions in regard to violating a traffic law or have been charged as a repeat minor consuming alcohol
A) Make an Appointment
Make an appointment online to take the road test get your provisional driver's license. No appointment, no road test.
Find Your Local DMV Office
Or Select a City:
B) Take the Road Test
Before you head out the door to take your driving test at an Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles office, be sure you have the following:
- Valid driver’s permit
- Written test scores
- Two pieces of identification
- Social security number
- A notarized Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor (Form 433) for minors (completed in ink)
- Vehicle registration and proof of insurance
- Proof from your parent, legal guardian or employer that you completed 40 hours of practice driving (10 hours of which must be driven during challenging circumstances)
You also have to provide a car for your driving test. Before you get moving, an examiner will run a safety inspection. For more on vehicle requirements and road test details, visit the state site.
Get Your Alaska Driver's License
Once you pass the road test, the state will issue you an Alaska drivers license. Depending on your age and experience, you will receive either a provisional license (with restrictions) or a regular license.
First-time drivers younger than 18 years old drive on a provisional license. You must hold your provisional license for at least 6 months in order to graduate to a regular drivers license.
The following restrictions apply:
- No passengers younger than 21 years old can ride with you (except for siblings)
- You can’t drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
Exceptions come into play under the following circumstances:
- You are accompanied by a driver (at least 21 years old) who is licensed to operate the type/class of vehicle being driven
- You are driving to or from or within the scope of your place of employment (all driving must take place on the most direct route)
Once you turn 18 years old, the above driving restrictions no longer apply to you. The state also does not require you to swap your provisional license for a regular license. But if you want to make it official by heading to the AK DMV for a new license, be prepared to take a vision test and pay a replacement license fee.