This Step: Get a Drivers License

Driver's LicenseChecklist

Badges Earned:

Get a Drivers License in Arkansas

Depending on your age, you can apply for one of the following Arkansas licenses:

  • Learner’s License―14 years old
  • Intermediate License―16 years old
  • Regular License―18 years old and older

A) Take the Road Test

No matter which license you are eligible to apply for, you must take a skills test. You will take this driving test in your own vehicle, accompanied by an Arkansas State Police Driver Examiner. On test day, the driver examiner will check for current vehicle registration and insurance as well as inspect the vehicle to ensure it is in safe, legal and mechanical condition.

During the skills test, the examiner will determine that you:

  • Have familiarity with all controls
  • Maintain proper control of the vehicle
  • Follow all traffic laws (speed limits, stop signs and signals), the seat belt law, use of headlights and windshield wipers, proper lane use, etc.
  • Properly lookout for other vehicles and pedestrians
  • Properly adjust to special driver situations (construction zones, school zones, etc.)

Find Your Local OMV Office

Get Your Arkansas Driver's License

Once you pass the driving test, the state will issue you one of the following licenses depending on your age.

Arkansas Learners License

You can trade your instruction permit for a learner’s license at 14 years old, but the restrictions will remain the same:

  • You must be accompanied by an adult licensed driver
  • All passengers must wear safety seat belts when you’re behind the wheel
  • You cannot use a cell phone or other wireless communication devices while driving (except in emergency situations)

Your AR learner’s license expires when you turn 16 years old. Then you must apply for an intermediate driver’s license.

Intermediate License

At 16 years old you can apply for an intermediate license. You must hold a valid instruction permit or learner’s license to apply for an intermediate license. You can upgrade as long as you have no serious accidents, haven’t been at fault in a car wreck and have zero traffic convictions within the past 6 months. The following restrictions apply:

  • All passengers must wear seat belts at all times
  • You can’t drive with more than one unrelated minor passenger unless you’re accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older
  • You can’t drive between 11:00 pm and 4:00 am unless you’re accompanied by someone 21 years old or older, if you are driving to or from a school activity, church-related activity, or job or if you’re driving due to an emergency.
  • You cannot use a cell phone or other wireless communication devices while driving (except in emergency situations)
  • If you are younger than 18 years old, you must have an adult ride with you for a minimum of 6 months; after that you can drive alone

Your AR intermediate license expires on your 18th birthday. Then you must apply for a regular driver’s license.

Arkansas Regular License

You can apply for this non-restricted regular drivers license when you turn 18 years old as long as you currently hold a valid learner’s license (and have held an instruction permit). Also, your record must NOT reflect any of the following for the past 12 months:

  • Any at-fault auto accidents
  • Involvement in any serious accidents
  • Any serious traffic convictions
Ad Area Right

Recent Successes