This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in California
Take a State-Approved Drivers Ed Course
California requires teens between 15 1/2 years old and 17 1/2 years old to complete drivers ed. During this state-approved course, you will learn:
- California traffic laws
- CA road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Look online for drivers education courses approved by the CA DMV, and sign up for the one that best meets your schedule. Your options include taking a drivers education course online or in a traditional classroom environment. You’ll even see that some programs integrate drivers ed and driver training (required for a license, but not a permit).
Once you complete drivers ed, you must obtain proof that you passed. Some programs will submit your certificate of completion to the California DMV, but you should also request a copy of your own. That way, you can submit the certificate in person to the state when you apply for an instruction permit.
- Enroll with a State Approved Online Provider -
- Or Select from A Local Provider -
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in California along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.