This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in California
California enlists a graduated drivers licensing program for teens looking to get behind the wheel. If you are older than 15 1/2 years old but younger than 17 1/2 years old, you can obtain a permit by following these steps below. If you are older than 17 1/2 years old but younger than 18 years old, you may get your permit without taking driver education and driver training. The only catch is that you can’t take the driving test until you 18 years old.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Tests
Take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to a California Department of Motor Vehicles office to take your written test. Sample test questions cover the CA traffic laws and road signs you’ll find on the actual DMV exam. Be sure you also review the California Driver Handbook.
B) Gather the Appropriate Documents and License Fees
Get the following together for test day:
- Completed form DL 44 (originals only; complete with parent signatures); Call the DMV to receive this application by mail
- Proof of your true full name
- Social security number
- An acceptable document proving birthday and legal presence
- Proof of drivers ed completion
- Application fee
C) Take the CA DMV Permit Exam
After gathering your requirements, take your written knowledge test at a nearby CA DMV office. Your best bet is to make an appointment first.
During your visit, also be prepared to take a vision test.