This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Colorado
A) Enroll in a State-Approved Drivers Ed Course
The state requires teens 15 years old to 15 1/2 years old to complete drivers ed before applying for a Driver Education Permit. The two other types of permits (Driver Awareness and Minor Instruction Permits) don't require drivers ed completion, but you must be a bit older to apply. If you are older than 15 1/2 years old, move on to Step 2.
To fulfill this requirement, you must complete a classroom study course of 30 hours (either in person or online). Here you will learn about Colorado traffic laws, road signs, safe-driving practices and more. Only Division of Motor Vehicles approved third-party Driver Education Schools can be used to fulfill this requirement.
- Enroll with a State Approved Online Provider -
- Or Select from A Local Provider -
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Colorado along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.
B) Get Course Completion Certification
Once you pass the classroom portion, have your instructor sign the Affidavit of Completion of A Driver Education Classroom Course. This is on the back of form DR 2460 (Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship), which is also required when you apply for your Driver's Education Permit. You will also need to bring the necessary identification documents, as well as $9 for the Instruction permit with you to the DMV.