This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Colorado
Colorado enlists a graduated drivers licensing program for those looking to get behind the wheel for the first time. Depending on your age, you can apply for the following permits:
- Driver Education Permit―15 years old to 15 years and 6 months old
- Driver Awareness Permit―15 years and 6 months old to 16 years old
- Minor Instruction Permit―16 years old to 21 years old
No matter which driving permit you are eligible to apply for, you must pass a written permit exam and vision screening test.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Tests
Take multiple online practice tests before you head to a Colorado drivers license office to take your written permit exam. Sample test questions cover the CO traffic laws and road signs you’ll find on the actual DMV exam. Be sure you also review the Colorado Driver Handbook.
B) Gather the Appropriate Documents and Permit Fees
ALL applicants must provide the state with:
- A Certified Birth Certificate or other acceptable forms of identification
- A completed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (Form DR2460)
- Proper fees (cash, check or money order; credit or debit cards are not acceptable)
The remaining requirements vary by permit type.
Driver Education Permit
You must also complete the classroom portion of a state-approved driver education course within 6 months of applying for your instruction permit. Once you pass, have your instructor sign the Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course (page 2 of DR2460).
Driver's Awareness Permit
You must also complete the four-hour Driver Awareness Program or 30 classroom hours of drivers education (either online or in person) within 6 months of applying for your Driver's Awareness Permit. Once you pass, have your instructor sign the Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course (page 2 of DR2460).
Minor Instruction Permit
The only documents you need to apply are those listed at the top of this section.
C) Take the Colorado Permit Exam
After gathering your requirements and fees, take your vision test and written knowledge test at a nearby CO drivers license office.