This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Florida
A) Enroll in a State-Approved Drivers Ed Course
Look online for a drivers ed course. The state also refers to this as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education. If you’ve never held a regular drivers license in any state, country or jurisdiction, there’s no way around it. In a state-approved drivers education course you will learn:
- Florida traffic laws
- FL road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
B) Complete Drivers Education
You must complete Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (drivers education) before taking the written exam and applying for a temporary Florida driving permit (restricted driver license). This applies to teen drivers between 15 to 17 years old.
After completing the course, first-time drivers who are under 18 years old are eligible to take an online driver license test to meet the state permit requirements. American Safety Council is the only provider approved by the FL DHSMV to administer these online exams. For more, check out the next step on obtaining your first restricted driver's permit.
- Enroll with a State Approved Online Provider -
Florida First Time Driver CourseFlorida - First Time Driver Course
Enroll in the four-hour class from the privacy of your own home and complete it at your convenience. This course will allow you to learn about how alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to drive, FL laws and responsibilities, and safe driving techniques.
- Or Select from A Local Provider -
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Florida along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.