This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Georgia
Georgia enlists a graduated drivers license program for teens looking to get behind the wheel for the first time. You can start the process when you turn 15 old by following these steps to getting a Georgia Learner’s Permit. If you are older than 18, you’ll follow the same steps with a few noted exceptions.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Tests
Take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to a Georgia Department of Drivers Services office to take your written test. Sample test questions cover topics you’ll find on the actual learner’s permit exam such as GA traffic laws and road signs. Be sure to also thoroughly study the Georgia Driver’s Manual.
B) Gather Required Documents and Permit Fees
With parent or legal-guardian permission, 16 and 17 year-old teens can take the written learner’s permit test. Of course if you are older than 18, parent permission is not required. Be sure you have:
- An original U.S. birth certificate, certified copy of the U.S. birth certificate (with embossed state seal), U.S. certificate of birth registration, certified copy of court records (for adoption, name changes, etc.), certified naturalization records, immigration card or a valid passport; see the state’s full list of identification requirements
- Original, non-expired immigration documents (if you’re not a U.S. citizen)
- Your Social Security number (Non citizens may present a Social Security Denial Letter, Form SSAL 676 instead)
- If you are younger than 18, a completed Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance (DS-1); minors not attending school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or proof of enrollment in college; students enrolled in an approved home school program must present a Certificate of Attendance form from the local Board of Education
- Proper fees (cash, money order, check, debit/credit card)
Also be prepared to surrender any out of state permits, licenses or ID cards. If you held a license or permit in another state, you must hand over a certified driving history record dated within the last 30 days.
C) Take the GA Learner’s Permit Exam
With your parent or legal guardian (unless you are older than 18), required documents and fees, head to any GA Customer Service Center. The state administers tests on a walk-in basis, so look online for the nearest branch.
In addition to signing for you, your parent or legal guardian must present:
- Certified guardianship court papers or adoption papers with embossed court seal
- A Georgia driver license or ID card (without either of these, you must present a standard Proof of Residency document)
During your visit, you’ll take a two-part knowledge test and a vision exam. If you fail the written exam, the state forfeits your test fee. You can pay the fee again when you retake the test.