This Step: Take Driver Training
Take Driver Training in Hawaii
Driver training is the second portion of your drivers ed requirement. If you are younger than 18, you have two options (driver training is not required for those 18 and older):
- Six hours of behind-the-wheel-training with a DOT-certified instructor
- A DOT-certified simulator course and two hours of behind-the-wheel-training with a DOT-certified instructor
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driving school locations in Hawaii along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.
A) Get On the Road
Minors 15 ½ to 17 years old must clock 50 hours (40 during the day an 10 at night) under the supervision of a parent or an adult older than 21. During this time, you must keep your permit on you any time you get behind the wheel and abide by a few restrictions.
Learner’s Permit Restrictions
While completing your driver training, you must practice in the presence of an adult who:
- Is at least 21 years old and licensed to operate the same type of motor vehicle
- Occupies the seat next to you
- Is also your parent or guardian if it’s between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.; this supervising driver must also be seated next to you
You and all passengers must also wear your seat belts any time you drive. You must also ensure that any children younger than four are properly restrained in a child safety seat in compliance with state laws.
Get the Behind-the-Wheel Completion Certificate
After you pass the driver training portion with a DOT-certified instructor, you’ll receive proof of completion. Once you are ready to take your road test, you’ll submit this behind-the-wheel completion certificate to the state.