This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Hawaii
Complete a Drivers Ed Course
Teens age 15 Â½ to 17 years old can begin the three-stage Hawaii Graduated Driver License Program (GDL) by signing up for a state-approved drivers education course. If you are 18 years old or older, drivers ed isn’t a requirement to get your driver’s license, but it will help you prepare for the written test.
Be sure the drivers ed course you enroll in is approved by the Director of the Hawaii Department of Transportation. During this course, you will learn:
- Hawaii traffic laws
- Hawaii road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Although most students take the course while preparing to get their instructional permit, you don’t have to complete drivers ed before applying. It’s not until you apply for a drivers license that you must have completed both the classroom portion and behind-the-wheel training.
After getting schooled, you'll receive proof of completing the classroom hours from your drivers ed program. Hang on to this student completion certificate, as you'll need to present it to the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles when you take your road test.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Hawaii along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.