This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Iowa
One of the conditions of holding an IA instruction permit is to complete an Iowa-approved or comparable driver education course. For teens older than 18 years old, drivers ed is not a requirement, although it will enhance your driving skills and knowledge of Iowa traffic laws, road signs and safety laws.
Complete a Drivers Ed Course
During the time you must hold your instruction permit, you must complete a drivers education course that includes:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- Including 4 hours of substance abuse education and a minimum of 20 minutes on railroad crossing safety and information on organ donation
- 6 hours of laboratory, 3 hours of which must be clocked behind the wheel (simulators for the remaining hours are acceptable)
Keep in mind that the state will not accept any parental waivers for behind-the-wheel drive time. You must complete all above-stated hours. After you have completed all training, you'll receive proof of completing the drivers ed program. Hang on to this completion certificate, just in case as you need to show proof when you take your road test.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Iowa along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.