This Step: Take Driver Training
Take Driver Training in Idaho
A) Enroll in Driver Training
You must take driver training if you are younger than 17 years old and looking to get your first driver’s license. Teens older than 17 years old, although not required to complete driver training, will still greatly benefit from learning Idaho traffic laws, road signs, safe driving practices and more.
Idaho public schools offer courses to ALL state residents between the ages of 14 ½ to 21 years old, regardless of whether they are public school students. Or you can also take private classes through a commercial driver training school.
In a state-approved driving training program you must complete the required:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- 6 hours of in-car observation in a driver-training car
- 6 hours of behind-the wheel driving with a driver training instructor
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driving school locations in Idaho along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.
C) Become Eligible to Begin the Supervised Instruction Period
Once you complete driver’s training and the instructor gives you the permit, you’ll be eligible to start the supervised instruction period required by the Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program. You’ll also need proof of completing the classroom and behind-the-wheel portions of driver training. Hang on to any completion certificates you receive to submit them to the state.