This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Indiana
Enroll in a Drivers Ed Course
Teens 15 years old and 180 days old can begin the Indiana Graduated Driver License (GDL) program by signing up for a state-approved drivers education course. Enrollment is necessary if you want to get a driver’s license by the time you turn 16 years and 180 days old. When searching for a program that suits you, inquire about a school’s participation in the driving skills test waiver program. This would allow you to take the driving test during drivers ed. See Step 5 for more info.
Without taking drivers ed, you must wait until you are at least 16 years old and 270 days to obtain an Indiana driver’s license. You still might want to consider taking the course as passing a drivers education course will help you prepare for the written test.
During an IN Bureau of Motor Vehicles-approved course, you will learn:
- Indiana traffic laws
- IN road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
If you are younger than 16 years old, you MUST get proof of enrollment from your approved driver education program. You’ll present this certificate of driver education enrollment from the school (dated no earlier than three weeks prior to the start of class) when you apply for a learner’s permit.
- Enroll with a State Approved Online Provider -
- Or Select from A Local Provider -
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Indiana along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.