This Step: Get a Drivers License
Get a Drivers License in Indiana
Drivers license requirements vary by age and whether you have completed a state-approved drivers education program.
Probationary Driver’s License―Teens 16 and 17 years old
- With drivers ed―You must be at least 16 years old and 180 days
- Without drivers ed―You must be at least 16 years old and 270 days
Regular Driver’s License―Applicants 18 and older
- With or without drivers ed―You must be at least 18 years old
A) Make an Appointment at the IN BMV
If you already took the written test to get a permit (applicants 16 years old and up who opted out of drivers ed), you only have to pass the road test. For those who have yet to take the written test you can do so at the same time you take your road test. There’s no need to schedule a written test appointment (unless you need it read to you).
However, all road tests are by appointment only. Schedule a driving skills test appointment:
Find Your Local BMV Office
Or Select a City:
B) Take the Written and Road Test
Prepare for the Written Test
Take multiple online practice permit tests before test day. Sample test questions cover topics you’ll find on the actual IN learner’s permit exam. In addition, thoroughly study the Indiana Driver’s Manual.
Prepare for the Driving Skills Test
When heading to the IN testing station you must be accompanied by a individual with a valid Indiana drivers license. Be sure you arrive at least 15 minutes before your appointment and bring the following:
- Your valid Indiana learner’s permit
- Current Indiana registration for the test vehicle
- A clean, safe and legally equipped vehicle in which you’ll take the driving skills test
Driver Education Waiver
If you took the driving skills test after your driver education program (under the driving skills test waiver program), obviously you won’t have to take it again at the license branch. Only one drive test can be administered by a school. If you fail the skills test at the license branch, you can’t return to the school to take another drive test.
The only reasons you would have to take the test at a license branch include:
- Your learner’s permit expires
- OR your drivers ed course doesn’t participate in the BMV’s driving skills test waiver program
- OR you fail to successfully complete your driver education program
Written and Road Test Retakes
Failing a combination of three or more written or driving skills tests means you have to apply for a new learner’s permit. Then you must hold it for 60 days before applying for an IN drivers license.
If you fail just the driving skills test, you have to wait 14 days before you can retest.
Get Your Indiana Driver's License
Probationary Drivers License
If you are 16 or 17 years old, you’ll receive a probationary license after you pass all tests. Your license holds the following restrictions:
- Every passenger must wear a seat belt
- You can’t use any type of telecommunication device while driving unless you are making emergency 911 calls
- During the first 180 days after getting your license you may not drive with any passengers unless you are also accompanied by a licensed instructor, an individual with a valid Indiana driver’s license who is 25 years or older, or a parent, guardian, or stepparent who is 21 years old or older; you may drive with your child, sibling, or spouse during the hours allowed by law
- During the first 180 days after getting your license you may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- After 180 days you may not drive on Saturday and Sunday between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m., Sunday through Thursday after 11 p.m., and Monday through Friday before 5 a.m.
- You CAN drive any time when it’s for work, school or a religious event, or if you are accompanied by an adult 25 years old or older who holds a valid Indiana drivers license
Once you turn 18 years old your license will no longer be probationary.
Regular Drivers License
After passing the road test, you’ll earn a regular driver’s license that bears no restrictions.