This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Kansas
Complete a Drivers Ed Course
Teens 14 years old and older can begin the Kansas Graduated Driver License (GDL) program by signing up for a state-approved drivers education course. Unless you plan on applying for a restricted license (for teens 15 years old to 16 years old years old), taking drivers ed is not required. However, it will get you out of taking the written test no matter how old you are.
Just be sure the drivers ed program you enroll in is approved by the KS Department of Revenue. That's the only way you can skip the written knowledge test when applying for a permit. During drivers ed, you will learn:
- Kansas traffic laws
- KS road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
After getting schooled, you'll receive proof you passed the drivers ed program. Hang on to this certificate of completion, as you'll need to present it to the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles when you apply for your instruction permit, farm permit or restricted license.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Kansas along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.