This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Kansas
Teens younger than 17 have numerous options for earning legal privilege to get behind the wheel:
- Instruction Permit―Must be at least 14 years old
- Farm Permit―Must be at least 14 but 14 and 15 year olds
- Less Restricted Farm Permit―Must be at least 16 but younger than 17
If you are 18 or older, you aren’t required to obtain a permit. If you didn’t take drivers ed, you can follow the steps below on preparing for and taking the written test.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Permit Tests
Again, if you don’t have a certificate of completion from driver education, you’ll have to take the written test. First take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to a nearby Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles office. Sample test questions cover topics you’ll find on the actual KS learner’s permit exam.
In addition to taking some practice tests, thoroughly study the Kansas Driving Handbook. That way you will be prepared to pass the actual Division of Motor Vehicles permit test with ease.
B) Gather Required Documents and Kansas Permit Fees
When applying for an instruction permit or farm permit, you must be able to provide:
- Parent approval (teens 14 and 15 year olds must have a parent or guardian sign their application)
- Farm affidavit (if applying for a farm permit, you must present permission from a farm employee if you don’t live on a farm of more than 20 acres)
- Proof of age and identity
- Proof of legal presence
- Proof of Kansas residency and proof of principal address
- Proper fees
You must also surrender all out-of-state ID cards (or licenses if applicable).
C) Visit a Kansas DMV Office
With the above requirements in hand, head to a KS DMV branch. In addition to submitting the required documents and fees, you'll take a vision screening test. Of course if you don’t have your Driver Education Completion Certificate, you must also take the written exam on Kansas traffic laws and road signs.