This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Kentucky
If you are a minor, you have a few choices when it comes to taking drivers education. For those older than 18 years old, you aren’t required to complete drivers ed, but it will enhance your driving skills and knowledge of Kansas safety laws and practices.
Complete a Kentucky Driver Education Program
Teens younger than 18 years old must complete a driver education program offered by the Transportation Cabinet before moving to the full unrestricted licensing phase. During the course, which is 4 hours, you will learn:
- Kentucky traffic laws
- Kentucky road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
When you passed the written test to get a permit, a license examiner forwarded your info to the Division of Driver Licensing to enroll you in a course offered in the appropriate county. You’ll receive a letter with more details on taking the drivers ed course. If you have any questions, contact the Kentucky Division of Driver Licensing.
OR Complete a State-Approved Drivers Ed Course
Instead of taking the state course of 4 hours, you have the option to take a high school driver’s ed course or state-approved driver training school course. In this case, you must submit a copy of completion to the KY Division of Driver Licensing once you pass. Make sure your submission includes your driver license number, name and date of birth.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Kentucky along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.