This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Louisiana
The state requires all first-time drivers to pass one of two types of drivers education courses approved by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections or the Department of Education. These include a drivers education course which is 38 hours and a pre-licensing course which is 6 hours.of classroom work and 8 hours behind-the-wheel training. Both cover Louisiana traffic laws, Louisiana road signs, safe-driving practices and more.
- Under 18 years old―Must pass the drivers ed course to become eligible for a learner’s permit
- 18 years old and over―Must pass either the drivers ed course of 38 hours or a pre-licensing course of 6 hours classroom instruction and 8 hours behind the wheel training. You will need one of these courses to become eligible for a learner’s permit OR Class E driver’s license
Once you finish the course, obtain a certificate of successful completion to submit to the Office of Motor Vehicles when you apply for either a Louisiana learner’s permit or driver’s license. Without proof that you passed driver education, the state will not grant you driving privileges.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Louisiana along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.