This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Massachusetts
To get your hands on a Massachusetts driver’s license, teens younger than 18 years old must complete a driver’s education program and take professional driving lessons at a local high school or driving school. No matter which drivers ed program you choose to take, be sure it is licensed, monitored and approved by the MA Registry of Motor Vehicles. If you are older than 18 years old, although drivers ed is not required, it will help you pass the written and road tests with ease. In class, you will learn:
- Massachusetts traffic laws
- MA road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Complete drivers ed before it comes time to take your road test for a Class D drivers license. Once you pass, your licensed driving school or high school program will send word to the MA RMV. As long as the school is approved by the Registrar, your driver’s education certificate will be kept electronically on file with the state.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Massachusetts along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.