This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Maryland
To get your hands on a Maryland driver’s license, all first-time drivers must fulfill the requirements of the Maryland Graduated Licensing System. The first step is successfully completing a drivers education course approved and licensed by the MD Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The course is broken into two sections: 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training. Both cover:
- Maryland traffic laws
- MD road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Online, distance learning and home-study drivers ed course do not count as licensed, state-approved programs. Once you finish both portions of a certified drivers education program, you’ll need proof you passed. Obtain a certificate of completion to submit to the Maryland MVA. Without proof, the state will not grant you driving privileges.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Maryland along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.