This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Minnesota
The state enlists a Graduated License Program for new drivers looking to get a license. The first step depends on your age. If you are younger than 18 years old, you must take a state-approved drivers ed course and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel driver training before applying for a Minnesota instruction permit. If you are 18 years old or older drivers ed isn’t required to get your instruction permit, but it will prepare you for the written test.
The 30 hours of classroom drivers ed covers:
- Minnesota traffic laws
- Minnesota road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Once you complete your classroom hours and enroll in behind-the-wheel instruction, you’ll receive a “Blue Card.” Hang on to this as you’ll need to present it to the state when you apply for an MN instruction permit.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Minnesota along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.