This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Montana
Enroll in Drivers Education
Montana enlists a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program for teens younger than 18 years old looking to land their first drivers license. You can start the process by enrolling in a driver education course approved by the MT Department of Justice and the Superintendent of Public Instruction. If you are 18 years old or older, you aren’t required to take driver education to get a Montana driver’s license. But it will help you pass the written exam you must take to get an instruction permit.
During a drivers ed course, you will learn
- Montana traffic laws
- Montana road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Once you sign up for a state-approved drivers education course, you can apply for a Traffic Education Learner’s License (TELL), also known as an instruction permit. The minimum age to apply is 14 1/2 years old.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Montana along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.