This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in North Carolina
Take a Drivers Education Course
North Carolina enlists a graduated licensing program for teens 15 to 18 years old looking to get their first drivers license. You must start by taking a state-approved driver education course that includes at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel training.
If this is your first driver's license and you have not graduated from high school or obtained a GED, you must complete a state-approved driver ed course.
During a driver education course, you will learn:
- North Carolina traffic laws
- North Carolina road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Once you complete drivers education, you’ll need to show proof that you passed when applying for your written permit test. Take the completion certificate given to you by your driver education instructor, and submit it to the NC Division of Motor Vehicles along with all your required documents and fees.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in North Carolina along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.