This Step: Practice Driving
Practice Driving in New Hampshire
Before heading to the New Hampshire DMV to take your drivers license exams, you must log supervised driving hours if you are younger than 18. If you are older than 18, the state doesn’t require you to practice behind-the-wheel. But doing so could help you pass the driving skills test.
A) Know Your Driving Restrictions
If you are at least 15 ½ years old, you can begin practicing behind the wheel only if you:
- Are driving non-commercial vehicle on New Hampshire roadways
- Carry proof of age
- Are accompanied in the front seat by your parent, legal guardian or other licensed adult who is at least 25 years old
B) Get on the Road
NH teens younger than 18 must clock 40 hours of supervised practice driving in addition to the 10 hours required by driver education. You must drive ten of your 40 hours during the period from 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise.
C) Track Your Practice Hours
Your 40 hours must be logged and supervised by your parent or legal guardian. If you don’t have a parent or legal guardian, you must be supervised by a licensed adult who is at least 25 years old. Complete the Driver’s Out-of-Class Log Sheet with your supervising driver. You will then submit this to the DMV when you apply for your drivers license.