This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Nevada
Take a Drivers Education Course
Teens younger than 18 years old must complete drivers ed to begin the process of getting your Nevada drivers license. If you are 18 years old or older, although it’s not required, driver education will help you pass your drivers license exam the first time around.
As soon as you turn 15 years old, your drivers education options include:
- Taking a classroom course and completing 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience
- Completing an online course and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience
- Completing 100 hours of driving experience (only if no classroom courses are offered within a 30-mile radius of your home and you don’t want to take an online course)
Although drivers ed is not required to get an instruction permit, you must complete this 30-hour course through a public or private high school or an NV DMV-licensed professional drive school to get a driver license. There is even the option to take 15 hours of classroom instruction and five behind-the-wheel training hours offered by some private schools. First check that your school has been approved by the DMV to teach this shortened course.
During the 30-hour classroom course, you will learn:
- Nevada traffic laws
- NV road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
Get Proof of Drivers Ed Completion
You must show proof of completion once you pass your drivers ed course. Professional schools will issue you a Certificate of Completion for you to hand over to the NV Department of Motor Vehicles when you apply for a full license. However, if you take the course through a high school program, you might not receive this certificate. In this case, a report card or transcript will do.
- Enroll with a State Approved Online Provider -
- Or Select from A Local Provider -
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Nevada along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.