This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Ohio
Take a Drivers Education Course
Ohio driver’s license applicants younger than 18 years old must complete a state-approved driver education course before taking the road test. The course includes 24 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of driving with a certified instructor. If you are 18 or older, drivers ed is not required. However, it could totally help you pass the OH driver license exams the first time around because it covers:
- Ohio traffic laws
- OH road signs
- Safe-driving practices and more
You’ve got three options when it comes to state-approved driver education programs:
- Your high school
- A licensed commercial driver training school
- A course offered by the military (which is also considered the same as commercial driver training)
Once you complete the course, your instructor will issue you a Driver Education Certificate as proof you passed. Present this to the driver’s license examiner when you take your driving skills test through the Ohio Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Ohio along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.