This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Oklahoma
To legally practice driving on Oklahoma roads, all first-time drivers must obtain an OK learner permit. The minimum age to apply is15 1/2 years old. If you have completed (or are enrolled in) drivers ed, or if you are 16 years old or older (no course required), you can apply through the Department of Public Safety. Just be sure you feel prepared to pass the vision and written driving exams.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Permit Tests
Before you take the written test to obtain a learner permit, prepare by taking multiple online practice permit tests. Sample test questions cover topics (traffic laws, road signs, etc.) that you’ll find on the actual Oklahoma permit exam.
In addition to passing some practice tests, thoroughly study the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual until you feel prepared enough to breeze through the learner permit test.
B) Gather Required Documents and Permit Fees
Make sure you have the following in check for your visit an Oklahoma DPS office.
- Primary and secondary proofs of identity
- Proof of legal name and birth date
- Proof of residency
- Proof of legal presence in the United States
- Learner permit fees (see the OK Driver’s Manual for exact fees)
Check the state site’s page on ID requirements for more specific details.
C) Take the Written and Vision Tests
With the above requirements in hand, go to a nearby Driver Testing Facility operated by the Department of Public Safety to take the vision and written exams. Once you pass, you’ll receive a learner permit.