This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Rhode Island
Drivers education may be the most important class of your life. Under the guidance of a certified instructor you are taught all of the driving skills and techniques needed to become a lifelong safe driver. Among the many topics covered include:
- Rhode Island traffic laws
- Road sign identification
- Merging with traffic
- Changing lanes and much more
If you're 16 to 18 years old, completing 33 1/2 hours of a driver education class is the first required step in Rhode Island's licensing process. Courses are administered by the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI). You may apply early if you're at least 15 years and 10 months old when the course begins. The course costs $85. You will also need an additional $19.95 for the required book "How to Drive: The Beginning Driver's Manual". The book is available on the CCRI campuses but can also be purchased online for a shipping fee of $5. You must have the manual, and pay the full registration fee prior to the first day of the course.
Though not required, even older new drivers are strongly encouraged to take the course.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Rhode Island along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.