This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Texas
Complete a Drivers Ed Course
Teens 15 years old and older can begin Phase One of the Graduated Driver License Program (GDL) by signing up for a TX DPS-approved drivers education course. Here you’ll learn Texas traffic laws, TX road signs, safe-driving practices and more.
This requirement applies to all first-time Texas drivers license applicants. Your options include:
- Licensed driver training schools
- Public schools
- Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE)
For those younger than 18 years old, you’ll complete two portions of drivers ed: classroom hours (before you get an instruction permit) and behind-the-wheel training (after you get an instruction permit). For the classroom portion, you’ll receive proof of completion through the drivers ed program. Hang on to this certificate, as you'll need to present it to the Texas Department of Public Safety when applying for your instruction permit. If you opted for PTDE, you'll submit to the state the Parental Driver Education Affidavit (DL-90A) and Classroom Instruction and Behind-the-Wheel Record (DL-91A) instead.
- Enroll with a State Approved Online Provider -
- Or Select from A Local Provider -
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Texas along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.