This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Texas
Once you turn 15 years of age, you can apply for a Texas instruction permit at a nearby TX driver license office. First be sure you have the following in check.
If you are older than 18 and can offer proof you completed state-approved Adult Driver Education, you'll skip the last step on taking the written test at a drivers license office. That is if you already passed the written highway signs and traffic laws test as part of the driver education course.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Permit Tests
Take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to a nearby Texas Department of Public Safety office to take your written test. Sample test questions cover topics you’ll find on the actual TX learner’s permit exam.
In addition to taking some practice tests, thoroughly study the Texas Driver Handbook. That way you will be prepared to pass the actual Department of Public Safety permit test the first time around.
B) Gather Required Documents and Texas Permit Fees
- Proof of identity
- Proof of Social Security number (if you don’t have one, complete a Social Security Affidavit form during your visit)
- Proof of auto insurance (if you own a vehicle)
- Proof you are a U.S. citizen or have lawful presence
- Proper fees
- Proof you completed the classroom portion of the drivers education requirement
If you are a minor, you must also present documentation that you:
- Have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent OR
- Are enrolled as student in public or private school* who attended school for at least 80 days in the fall or spring semester pre-ceding the date of application OR
- Have been enrolled for at least 45, and are currently enrolled in a program to prepare you for passing the high school equivalency exam.
You’ll submit a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) (CDD-104) form, or a letter from the school administrator in lieu of the VOE and Attendance form. You must also obtain parental authorization (if you completed Parent Taught Driver Education, your parent must be present to sign).
C) Take the Texas Instruction Permit Exam
With all the above requirements and your parent or guardian (if required), head to a Texas driver license office once you feel prepared to pass the written test. If all goes well, you’ll receive a non-photo permit valid until your next birthday, plus one year. Keep this permit on you as you move onto the next step so you can legally practice behind the wheel.