This Step: Take Drivers Education
Take Drivers Education in Wyoming
Take a Wyoming Drivers Ed Course
Driver education is not mandatory. However, as an incentive for taking a state-approved driver ed class, the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) will allow you to gain full driving privileges at 16 1/2 years old. Otherwise, you must wait until you turn 17 years old. The course covers:
- Road sign identification
- Wyoming traffic laws
- Foul-weather driving tips (a valuable skill in WY)
- Defensive-driving and more
After completing the driver ed course, you'll need verification. Obtain a certificate of completion and present it to the driver examiner when applying for a driver's license. Provided the completion certificate is from a state-approved driver education school, the examiner, in most instances, will exempt you from having to take the road test.
Find a Local Driver Education Provider
Find local driver education locations in Wyoming along with business profiles, reviews and contact information.