This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Arkansas
Arkansas enlists a graduated drivers licensing program for teens looking to get behind the wheel. First-time drivers who are at least 14 years old start with an Arkansas instruction permit by following the steps below.
A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Tests
Take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to local Arkansas revenue office to take your written test. Sample test questions cover the AR traffic laws and road signs you’ll find on the actual state exam.
B) Gather the Appropriate Documents and License Fees
A) Get the following together for test day:
- Birth certificate (proof of name and date of birth)
- Proof of residential address
- Proof of enrollment in school and grade point average (at least a 2.0 GPA); obtain these documents from your high school
- Proof of your graduation (if you are younger than 18 years old and have a diploma)
- Proof of legal presence
- Proper fees.
C) Take the Arkansas Instruction Permit Exam
After gathering your requirements, take your written knowledge test at a nearby Driver Services office. Be sure to call the particular office to ensure it is a testing site. You must also be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian to prove you have consent (if you are younger than
18 years old).
During your visit, also be prepared to take a vision test.