This Step: Get a Learner Permit
Get a Learner Permit in Connecticut
Teens drivers who are 16 and 17 years old need a learner's permit before the state will hand you a driver's license. For those older, you can skip this step and start practicing driving. No matter how old you are, it's always a good idea to study the state driver's manual before getting behind the wheel.
A) Study the Connecticut Driver's Manual
Get your hands on the Connecticut Driver's Manual to begin preparing for the DMV's knowledge test, which is made up of 25 questions. Here you'll find Connecticut traffic laws, road signs, safe driving practice and more.
B) Ace a Few DMV Practice Tests
Take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to a Connecticut DMV office to take your written exam. Sample test questions cover topics you’ll find on the actual learner’s permit test.
C) Gather Required Documents and Permit Fees
With parent or legal-guardian permission, teens can go to any full-service CT DMV office to take the written learner’s permit test. The Bridgeport, Cheshire, Danbury, Hamden, Norwalk, Old Saybrook, Waterbury, Wethersfield, and Willimantic office only offer learner's permit tests by appointment. Before you go be sure you have:
- Acceptable forms of identification
- Proof of Social Security number (card, letter from the SSA or recent W-2 Form)
- Notarized Parent Consent (Form 2D) (if your parent, legal guardian or spouse who is over 18 years old, won’t be at the DMV with you)
- Proof of Connecticut residency
- Proof of full legal name (if different than what appears on your birth certificate or passport)
- The $19 permit fee PLUS a $5 AAA or municipality fee. (Payment options vary by location)
D) Take the CT Learner’s Permit Exam
With your parent or legal guardian, required documents and fees, head to any full-service CT DMV office. Look online for the nearest branch.
During your visit you’ll take the learner’s permit knowledge test and a vision test. You must answer 20 questions, of the 25 questions on the knowledge test, correctly. If you fail the written exam, you can retest in 7 days. Keep in mind you’ll have to pay the test fee again.