This Step: Practice Driving
Practice Driving in Kentucky
Know Your Permit Restrictions
- You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and seated in the front passenger seat
- All passengers must wear a seat belt at all times
- You may not drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs; those younger than 21 years old are also subject to Kentucky Zero Alcohol Tolerance laws
Keep in mind ALL drivers are subject to the state’s point system. If you are younger than 18 years old and rack up more than 6 points, or if you are 18 years old or older and accumulate 12 points, the state will suspend your driving privilege.
The following additionally applies to teens younger than 18 years old:
- No driving between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m. (unless you can demonstrate a good cause such as an emergency or school- or work-related activities)
- No transporting more than 1 passenger at any time who is younger than 20 years old (this applies to non family members)
- No serious moving violations are permitted*
*If you receive a moving traffic violation conviction as a minor, you must restart the permit license period of 180 days.
B) Get On the Road
If you are younger than 18 years old, you must clock at least 60 hours of supervised driving practice. That includes 10 hours of nighttime driving. Be sure every time you get behind the wheel that you mind the restrictions listed above. Any penalties could postpone getting a license.
C) Get Proof of Practice Hours
Maintain a Practice Driving Log as you’ll need to submit this signed and completed document to the state when applying for your drivers license.